Start of the eighth formula e season in saudi arabia

This weekend, the eighth season of the formula e world championship kicked off in diriyya, saudi arabia, with two spectacular night races. Official name of this racing series is ABB formula-E FIA world championship. After an exciting final in berlin in the fall of last year, it’s now off to the desert, around the UNESCO world heritage site. Many new features characterize this eighth season, some teams like audi and BMW are no longer competing, and yet once again an aura of new beginnings hangs over the fledgling electric racing championship.

The results of the first two races in diriyya

Reigning champion nyck de vries led a mercedes EQ one-two in the first round of the 2021/22 ABB FIA formula e world championship in diriyah, saudi arabia. Stoffel vandoorne finished second and jake dennis (avalanche andretti) third. De vries won his first formula e race here in saudi arabia last year and went on to become world champion in a spectacular finish in berlin. He took advantage of a slip by the second mercedes EQ driver vandoorne when the belgian missed his second jump due to the activation loop of the ATTACK MODE. From then on, the two drivers dominated and in the end even had an eight-second lead over dennis from team avalanche andretti.

Image rights: tassilo brecht – formula e champion 2021 nyck de vries

In the second race, two venturi cars were in the top 3 and it was an incredibly exciting and intense race. it was won by swiss eduardo mortara ahead of robin frijns from virgin racing. In 3rd place then again a venturi with the brazilian lucas de grassi, all placed within a second of each other. The reason for this close race was the use of the safety car shortly before the end of the race.

The vehicles in the Formula E championship

2022 will be the last season for generation 2 Formula E cars before the teams receive their generation 3 cars in the spring, ready for the ninth season. The current generation 2 vehicle has been the base model for all formula e teams since the 2018-2019 season. This means that the drivers who have already participated in the races in previous years are very familiar with their cars and can use their experience behind the steering wheel. The gen 3 cars promise more power, front- and rear-wheel drive and a lower weight. These changes will ultimately lead to faster and closer races than ever before.

What does the Formula E racing calendar offer in 2022??

The 2022 race calendar includes sixteen races at ten tracks around the world. The start has just been made with two races in diriyya, saudi arabia, on the weekend from the 28th of august. January. the season finale will also be a double race in seoul, south korea, in august. In addition to the always exciting course at tempelhofer airport in berlin and the new course in vancouver, canada, real highlights await us this season. This certainly includes the return of the formula E prix races in monaco, new york and london. These prestigious venues offer close, crowd-pleasing races. Close to the public and still great racing – that’s what Formula E stands for.

What’s new this year in the formula-e?

The first surprise came in the form of safety car, because there is a new, spectacular e-vehicle here.

Porsche provides the new safety car for the 2022 Formula E series

Just under a week before the start of this eighth season of formula-e, porsche announced that it would be providing the safety car for the all-electric racing series for the first time in diriyya. The porsche taycan turbo S is the successor to the mini electric pacesetter and will again be driven by the portuguese bruno correia.

The all-electric porsche taycan turbo S with its 560 kW (761 hp) has more than twice as much power as the formula e cars themselves. It features the colors of all eleven participating teams and is equipped with a roll bar, racing bucket seats with six-point seat belts and additional flashing lights in the bumpers.

Image copyright: porsche press site – safety car – ABB formula E world championship 2022/23

After heavy criticism, the FIA has completely changed the qualifying format for 2022

Drivers are divided into two groups, A and B. The drivers of group A are the drivers on the odd positions in the table, while group B consists of drivers with even positions.

Both groups have twelve minutes to set the most competitive time possible. However, the first timed lap must be within the first six minutes. The drivers can do as many laps as they like. The top four drivers in each group advance to the duel phase, while the remaining drivers qualify on the basis of their lap times. After that, the top vehicles will be placed in the playoff procedure. Sounds a bit complicated, but it makes for real excitement.

Who are the participating teams?

Here too, there are changes compared to last year, as the teams from BMW and audi are no longer participating. In addition to last year’s champion mercedes-benz with its mercedes-EQ racing team, which incidentally will be driving its last season in this racing series, this season 2022:

  • Jaguar TCS racing
  • DS cheetah
  • Envision racing
  • Avalanche andretti
  • Rokit venturi racing
  • TAG heuer porsche formula-E team
  • Mahindra racing
  • Nissan E.Dams
  • Dragon/penske motorsport
  • NIO 333

With all these changes, I expect very exciting races in the eighth season. The formula-E is developing as fast as its technology, making it a testing ground for e-mobility. And it is precisely these findings that manufacturers such as jaguar, NIO, porsche or mercedes-benz will then incorporate into their production vehicles. Let’s go, into an exciting formula e season.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.